Tuesday, January 10, 2017

Lovecraft Dreamlands Literature

The following Lovecraft stories either take place in or make reference to the Dreamlands:

"Polaris" (1918)
"Beyond the Wall of Sleep" (1919)
"The Doom That Came to Sarnath" (1919)
"The White Ship" (1919)
"The Cats of Ulthar" (1920)
"Celephaïs" (1920)
"The Other Gods" (1921)
"Hypnos" (1922)
"The Dream-Quest of Unknown Kadath" (1926)
"The Silver Key" (1926)
"The Strange High House in the Mist" (1926)
"Through the Gates of the Silver Key" (1932)

Texts can be read from here:

The Dreamlands is a fictional location in the Dream Cycle of H.P. Lovecraft. It is also the setting for a number of pastiches written by other authors.

Lovecraft’s Dreamlands is an alternative dimension that is accessible, at will, by young dreamers. Once a person reaches adulthood accessing Dreamlands is more difficult and can be accessed through the use of certain narcotics.

Once a dreamer enters into the Dreamlands they must walk down the Seventy Steps of Light Slumber. Once at the bottom of the stairs they will face the judgment of Nasht and Kaman the gatekeepers of Dreamlands. If these gatekeepers find the dreamer worthy the dreamer is allowed to descend the Seven Hundred Steps of Deeper Slumber and emerges in to the Enchanted Wood.

No comments:

Post a Comment